home what is the free music movement? who is clay? is it really all free? contact clay
This is a make-your-own-CD kit

1. Download all the songs and the cover artwork PDF.

2. Burn the songs to a CD with no pause between songs (the pauses and transitions are already built-in).

3. Print out the cover artwork PDF onto CD Stomper Pro blank CD labels. Stick the label on the CD and put the cover in a jewel case.

3. That's it: you have the album - for free
download individually
01. bad bossa nova (MP3, 3.8 MB)
02. meatmarket (MP3, 5.6 MB)
standing angry (MP3, 6 MB)
04. baku (MP3, 6.3 MB)
05. lilting (MP3, 7.3 MB)
06. starecase
* (MP3, 6.8 MB)
07. dada (MP3, 6.2 MB)
08. funkadunk (MP3, 2 MB)
09. tuesday rain (MP3, 6.7 MB)
10. baby shower (MP3, 464 KB)
11. fleabitten (MP3, 5.9 MB)
12. cold winds rise (MP3, 4.8 MB)
13. jinglesnooze (MP3, 2.7 MB)
14. the shifting of gears (MP3, 13.9 MB)

Clay : Alone album cover (PDF, 192 KB)
To download the music, right-click any of the links to the left, and choose save link as from the pop-up menu.

Clay : Alone is a study in contradictions. The music here is based on the principles of drum n' bass and IDM - powerful, driving bass lines, ambient textures, and simple melodies, but it doesn't adhere to the 200+ beats per minute standard. The songs vary from the soft, lullaby-esque down-beat of baku to the frantic, ear-shattering Dn'B of cold winds rise. Often, that transition will come in the same song, like lilting, bad bossa nova, and dada.

Some songs are the soundtrack to a dream, like the rolling bass and tranced-out lyrics of dada and lilting. Other songs seem more like a nightmare, orchestrated by the haunting chorus on tuesday rain, or the climaxing strings of fleabitten. But for every low, there is a corresponding high, and jinglesnooze, featuring the poetry of JT Harrice, forms the perfect introduction to the waking dream of the shifting of gears.
download everything

Download entire album and cover art: clay : alone (79.7 MB)

*Starecase is the only track on Fumbata.com that is not available under a Creative Commons License (it contains samples - sorry!)